
 

 A T T E N T I O N  
IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR STATE OF KANSAS EMPLOYEES  

FREE ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE  

DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION 800 SW JACKSON ST. SUITE 600 TOPEKA, KS 
66612-1227  

TOLL FREE 1-800-332-0353  

If you get hurt on the job and have any unanswered questions about Workers Compensation benefits, contact 
the Claims Advisory Section at the Kansas Division of Workers Compensation. The Division of Workers 
Compensation has full-time personnel who specialize in aiding injured workers with claim information problems. 
They can give information about benefits an injured worker is entitled to receive.  They can help try to solve 
problems with benefits not being paid on time, with medical treatment, with unpaid medical bills, with questions 
about how to figure settlement amounts, etc. Spanish interpreters are available at the Division of Workers 
Compensation.  

WHAT TO DO IF AN ACCIDENT OCCURS ON THE JOB  

1. Tell your supervisor immediately that you were hurt on the job.  

2. Follow your supervisor’s instructions on getting medical aid.  

3. Follow the doctor’s instructions.  

 
AVERAGE WEEKLY WAGE  

A worker’s “average weekly wage” is calculated by adding together the base wage, the average weekly overtime 
and the weekly value of fringe benefits that have been discontinued.  

WEEKLY BENEFITS  

Disability Benefits for state employees are paid by the State Self-Insurance Fund, Room 951-S, Landon State 
Office Building, Topeka, KS 66612. Injured workers are not entitled to compensation for the first week they are off 
work unless they lose three consecutive weeks.  The first compensation payment is normally due on the next 
payday of the pay period in which the injury occurred.  

An injured employee is entitled to a weekly amount of 66 2/3 percent of the average weekly wage up to a 
maximum amount as set by state law. If an injury results in permanent impairment, the statute provides for 
additional disability and medical benefits.  

MEDICAL BENEFITS  

An injured worker is entitled to all medical services reasonably necessary to cure and relieve the effects of injury. 
The employer has the right to select the doctor who will treat the injury. In some areas, the injured worker will be 
directed to a contract provider. Ask your agency following an injury if there is a contracted provider in your area.  
If not, an injured employee may see their primary care provider unless otherwise directed. A worker may seek the 
services of any other provider, but those services provided may be considered unauthorized and payment will be 
limited to $500.  A worker may apply to the Workers Compensation Director to change the authorized treating 
doctor.  Any selection will be limited to one of three providers submitted by the Employer. Reimbursement for 
travel to obtain medical treatment is payable at a mileage rate set by law. Round trips that are five miles or longer 
are reimbursable.  



 

RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE AGENCY  

1 Upon receiving notice of injury, agencies must provide employees with written information to 
assist injured workers in obtaining compensation.  

2 Agencies must report all employee injuries to the State Self-Insurance Fund immediately by 
mailing Form 1101-A to SSIF, Room 900-N, Landon State Office Building, 900 SW Jackson, 
Topeka, KS 66612 or by faxing this form to 785-296-6995.  

3 The State of Kansas is a self-insured, self-administrative employer. All benefits are paid by the 
State Self-Insurance Fund.  

4 The State Self-Insurance Fund provides payment of workers compensation benefits without 
charge to employees.  

5 Agencies will post written notice of workers compensation coverage in both Spanish and English.  
 
 

STATE SELF-INSURANCE FUND  

The State Self-Insurance Fund office is located at Room 900-N, Landon State Office Building, 900 SW Jackson, 
Topeka, KS 66612. The telephone number is 785-296-2364 and the fax number is 785-296-6995. You may 
inquire about your claim by asking for the adjuster handling your claim. If you do not know your adjuster, the 
receptionist will identify the adjuster and transfer you.  

FRAUD AND ABUSE  

The Workers Compensation Act contains penalties for acts of fraud or abuse. If you know of anyone who is 
making false reports, working while drawing disability benefits, or otherwise abusing the workers compensation 
system, please report such activity by calling (785) 296-2364.  
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